Top 9 Albums I’m Looking Forward to in 2014

Year end lists are fun and all, but I thought it might be fun to compile a list of the albums I’m most looking forward to in 2014. In a year from now, I can look back and see how many of these made my “top albums of 2014 list” and how many turned out to be bitter disappointments.

Of course, if 2014 works out anything like 2013, quite a few of my top albums will be by bands I haven’t yet heard as of this moment.

Anyhow, here’s my list:

9. Lacuna Coil’s upcoming album.
I know this is not a universally popular opinion, but I thought Dark Adrenaline was a really fun album. Plus, the band have dropped some hints about this upcoming effort being heavier and possibly featuring the return of some growling vocals from Andrea. I’m looking forward to hearing how it all comes out.

8. Triptykon’s Melana Chasmata.
Listening to Triptykon is like being hammered on an anvil made of pure despair. I love it.

7. Behemoth’s The Satanist.
I’m hoping that maybe I’ll be able to catch Behemoth live when they tour for this album.

6. A new Fields of the Nephilim album.
Stop laughing! It could happen! Actually, if it does, I’ll eat my battered and dust-covered cowboy hat, but there have been rumors of new material in the works.

5. Sidious’s debut album.
After the enticing appetizer provided by their 2013 EP, Ascension to the Throne ov Self, who isn’t hungering for a full meal of their brand of blackened death metal?

4. Agalloch’s new album.
I’ve been listening to quite a bit of Agalloch lately, as I find it the perfect antidote to Christmas music.

3. talanas’s Asylum
talanas’s debut album, The Waspkeeper has been a perennial companion on my daily commute, because nothing eases the pain of crawling through a Silicon Valley traffic jam like cranking up some finely-crafted progressive death metal. I’m sure that their upcoming acoustic mini-album, Asylum, will while away many hours of inching along at 5 miles an hour while stuck between a Google self-driving car and a venture capitalist’s Tesla.

2. Temple of Void’s debut album
I’ve already written about how much I loved Temple of Void’s Demo MMXIII. If their debut album lives up to half that promise, it will be an epic slab of doom. I can’t wait to hear it.

1. Vallenfyre’s next album.
I loved Vallenfyre’s debut album, A Fragile King. I’m not sure whether the follow up will manage to top that raw and lovely
tribute to grief and despair, but I can’t wait to find out.

So, there’s my list. What are you looking forward to in 2014?

This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top 9 Albums I’m Looking Forward to in 2014

  1. ainemosh says:

    Superb! I’m dying to hear the new Talanas, Triptykon and Vallenfyre too!

  2. Pingback: Reactions: Behemoth’s The Satanist | Stumbling in the Dark

  3. Pingback: Reactions: talanas’s Asylum | Stumbling in the Dark

  4. Pingback: Reactions: Lacuna Coil’s Broken Crown Halo | Stumbling in the Dark

  5. Pingback: Reactions: Sidious’s Revealed in Profane Splendour | Stumbling in the Dark

Leave a Reply

